Sesame Zucchini Salad over Brown Rice

Happy Tuesday everyone!!! I’ve been spending a lot of time collecting my thoughts and planning some things out for this blog and my life in general. Be excited! I am thinking of adding a new day of the week with posts exclusively on breakfast ideas, some wildly exotic and exciting, and some fast, easy, and perfect for a rushed Monday morning. Also I am planning some new ideas for salads, granola (Ginger-Apple-Buckwheat anyone?), and sandwiches for everyday of the week! So stay tuned, and sign up to receive emails every time I add a new post.

Image

This is a picture of my tea from Sunday morning. The weather was in the 50’s and sunny, and I spent a lovely morning sitting in the sun with Pigeon on the porch.

Today’s recipe is delicious. Sometimes, I just want some old school hippie food: brown rice and tofu. This is delicious and simple, but I know that my longsuffering husband would like something with a little more flavor. Last night, I created a sesame zucchini salad to go with my tofu and rice. It was delicious and super simple! I love finding new ways to incorporate healthy ingredients like red cabbage into my meals everyday.

Image

Red cabbage is great for many reasons. It helps boost your immune system and detoxify you. It has a ton of great vitamins (C, A, and E to name a few), is loaded with anti-oxidants, and is a respectful source of calcium. There are also as many as 36 anti-cancer chemicals in red cabbage! So, needless to say, I’ve been trying to find more ways to incorporate red cabbage into my daily life!

Image

A lot of you may know that as a result of stiff joints (most likely caused by rheumatoid arthritis), I follow an anti-inflammatory diet.  I’m not anti fat by any means, but as part of this particular way of eating, I do need to make sure I don’t overload on oils. I like to mix them in dressings and fry tempeh in them, so I try to find other ways to cut back. This way I’m not eating cups of oil a day! One way I have found to cut back on oil and not miss it is to dry fry my tofu. Here’s a great explanation on how to dry fry tofu.

Sesame Zucchini Salad

Dressing:  
2 Tablespoons toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
½ teaspoon cayenne
½ teaspoon agave
splash of lime juice
2 tablespoons soy sauce
-whisk together

Salad:
1 whole zucchini thinly cut and steamed until soft
1/3 diced red pepper
½ cup chopped cilantro
½ cup edamame
½ cup sliced red cabbage

1) Slice the zucchini thinly and steam until soft, then run cold water over it.
2) Add the rest of the chopped ingredients with the dressing and mix to coat. Eat with brown rice and tofu. 

 

Leave a Reply

