Tofu Scramble

For some reason, making a tofu scramble has always slightly terrified me. Maybe because scrambled eggs were the holy grail of my omnivore life, or maybe because I’ve always shied away from trying to recreate meat items with vegan substitutes, or maybe for some totally unrelated reason, I’ve avoided attempting the tofu scramble for years. I make fluffy, flaky vegan biscuits and slide tofu “sausage” patties in them, flip exploding butter-soymilk pancakes in a cast iron, and can make a sweet potato waffle that blows your mind. But the tofu scramble I avoid like a plague. 

Image

For some reason, the other morning, I randomly decided to just charge in and give the mysterious tofu scramble a shot. I had some kale and mushrooms on hand, so I decided to mix those in. I also toasted a piece of Ezekiel bread and had that on the side. To my surprise, the scramble was delicious! So delicious, that I’ve made it for lunch everyday this week! I’ve learned a few key points: nutritional yeast MAKES this recipe, add it! The scramble is good, and definitely better with fried veggies and toast. 

Image

Being a vegan means exploring a lot, and trying a lot of new things. It can be exciting and fun (like my tofu scramble!), but it can also be frustrating and tiring (like the time I made lentil/mushroom “meat” balls and forgot to add half the spices). The best part of this journey is the feeling when I experiment and create something extraordinary and can throw my hands in the air and shout “Booyah!” at my unsuspecting dog. Those are the moments I love remembering, along with the quiet, green chair sitting, tofu scramble enjoying, delicious ones. 

Tofu Scramble

1 block of firm tofu, crumbled into a bowl
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of curry powder
½ teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon oregano
1 tablespoon of soy sauce
1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
¼ cup (or more!) of nutritional yeast
½ teaspoon of cumin

Mix above ingredients while heating oil in a skillet over medium heat. Once the oil is hot (you can test this by dropping some water off the tip of your finger into it, if it sizzles, its ready), add the tofu mixture and stir periodically until the moisture is cooked off and it is as crispy as you want. Enjoy with veggies, hot sauce, avocado, toast, or rice. Or anything, really. 

2 thoughts on “Tofu Scramble

Leave a Reply

