Raw Granola

The more interested I get in health food, the more I see reports for people who eat a raw food diet and have long, amazing lives. I’m not very interested in a raw foods diet, I mean, I make my living by cooking. I love the relationship we have with food, and I know that by eating mostly raw I would wind up isolating the social part of this relationship.

Lately, I’ve been focusing so much on creating dinners my husband can really get excited about that I find myself bloated and overfull most of the time. As a byproduct, I am craving raw meals. I eat smoothies with fresh fruit in the mornings, gigantic kale salads with shredded beets and carrots for lunch, and am chomping on apples like they’re about to become extinct.

 Image

Enter the raw granola. Because I’m on my feet running around at my job for 6-8 hours a day, I can’t afford to eat the amount of raw veggies it would take to sustain that. I saw a picture of a raw granola recipe and decided to recreate my own. I made a small batch because due to the raw nature of it, I don’t think it will last very long. Its kind of crunchy, but tastes well milk or yogurt. I just poured all the ingredients in the food processer and let it run until it was nice and crunchy.

 Image

Raw Granola

½ cup raw oat groats
6-8 raw dates
½ cup raw walnuts
½ cup raw almonds
1 tablespoon honey
½ teaspoon cinnamon
¼ cup raw sunflower seeds
½ cup raisins

 

Leave a Reply

