Bob Marley Cookies

I spent the whole weekend working, which I don’t mind because I love my job. I work at a food co-op downtown, making food. We use only the best ingredients, organic, thoughtfully sourced, and try to keep the food healthy. I got to make these sesame noodles on Sunday, a recipe I love because it mixed bright yellow and red bell peppers with sesame seeds and off-white udon noodles. The combination is stunning visually, and it tastes pretty good as well.

Image

I also had a taste of Chinese Green Tea this weekend from my brother who just returned from China. It was delicious, so light and flavorful.

Here are the things I’ve been into this week:

A terrifying, eye opening documentary about GMO’s; my dear friend Andrew once mentioned that GMO’s will be the biggest battle of our time, and I do believe he’s right. 

I have a weird obsession with beautiful, old, hippie women, and I found this article on aging while browsing photos of them. Isn’t she beautiful? Don’t you want to grow up to be her?

this lady is also pretty incredible.

My friends Andrew and Deanna stayed at this hostel in Sri Lanka this week, where they grow their own garden for the restaurant!

I also enjoyed the movie The Happy Poet about a guy who starts a vegetarian food stand. Its really inspiring, and sometimes we have to just stand up for ourselves to get where we want to get to. As someone who doesn’t like confrontation, I enjoyed seeing a movie where a shy underdog learned to stand up for his dreams. I need to implement that more.

 

Ok! Now to a recipe! I call these Bob Marley Cookies because there are a ton of different ingredients in them, and I was listening to Bob while I whipped them up.

Image

I’ve been cooking without sugar now for several months. Not only are sugar beets some of the most genetically modified crops, and 54% of sugar sold in the US comes from them.  Without sugar, I’ve been using a lot of maple syrup, honey, and soaked dates for sweetness. I’ve also found that my food palette has changed a lot the more healthy I eat. Now I crave sweet things like apples, and donuts have almost no appeal (to say none at all would be a definite lie) to me.

Image

To make these cookies, soak the dates for 3-7 hours before you use them. You want them nice and water logged, then squeeze the water out of them before you blend them. Also don’t be intimidated by the long list of ingredients, these are normal cookies that you probably all the ingredients for. I used carob chips in place of chocolate, but of course, you can use chocolate.

Image

Bob Marley Cookies
-2 cups flour blend (I used a blend of fresh wheat and buckwheat, but all buckwheat or buckwheat and oat would be good in this)
-1.5 teaspoons baking soda
-1 teaspoon salt
-1 teaspoon cinnamon
-3/4 cups crushed nuts
-6-7 soaked and drained dates
-1 tablespoon olive oil
-2 tablespoons honey
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
-1/2-3/4 cup apple sauce (unsweetened)
-1/2 cup carob chips
-1/2 cup shredded coconut

1)   Mix the dry ingredients and set aside. In a food processor, blend all the ingredients between dates and applesauce until smooth. Add to the dry ingredients and mix until you have nice moist but sticky dough. Mix in the carob and coconut.

2)   Heat the oven to 350. Make little balls and press them flat onto greased baking sheets. Bake around 10 minutes until slightly brown on bottom. Crank up Bob Marley and indulge.

 

 

Leave a Reply

