Caribbean Black Beans with Plantains

This week was busy! My mom came for a short visit on Wednesday and left Friday morning. She brought me an amazing new hat that she knitted! She is such a talented knitter and I love when she makes me these unique, adorable things. We had a great time talking and discussing books and getting ready for the Organic Growers School conference we go to every year.

 Image

Also I’m working out more and more with weights, and I can see a lot of improvement! I used to have enormous guns, beautiful big broad muscular shoulders that rippled in the sun. When I quit kayaking and baking all at the same time, that old saying “use it or lose it” took effect a lot faster than I ever thought possible. Working in a kitchen again and lifting weights a few days a week are helping slowly build that muscle back up.

Here are the things I’ve been into:

Sometimes I am a little bummed personally at what I feel is a lack of actually working towards doing anything for food in this world. This great little article on activism helps me realize I’m doing a lot more than I already realize.

This video had been viral years ago, but I rediscover it all the time. I long to grow up to be this beautiful soul, especially if I get to live in her house!

This blog is a new favorite. I love the way she writes about her life, and it takes me back to lazy summer days living by the river, spending my life on the porch of my ram-shackle shack,, and waking up on top of the world.   

Image

Now for a recipe, what do you say? Beans for dinner is a weekly occurrence here, because you can create a whole meal for around $4 a person (who doesn’t want that?!). I love mixing black beans with pineapples and plantains, and sometimes sweet potatoes. I’d love to go more Mexican or Cuban with my black beans, but I wind up Caribbean almost every time.

Caribbean Black Bean Stew
1 cup dried black beans, soaked for 4 hours, then cooked until soft in oven with veg stock
½ red bell pepper diced, and green
½ pineapple diced
½ onion diced
1 carrot, diced
2 teaspoons curry
1 teaspoon paprika
1.5 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
½ teaspoon black pepper
few dashes lime juice
2 garlic cloves
juice from ¼ orange
½ cup cilantro
1 can diced tomatoes

1) Saute the veggies together in some oil in a pot. Once they’re soft, throw in the seasonings for a minute, then add the beans, liquids, a can of diced tomatoes, and a cup or so of veggie stock. This recipe is super loose and adaptable, and I love it with fried plantains!

 

Leave a Reply

