Yellow Curry

Happy Tuesday! Everyone should be settling into their weeks by now, so I hope you’re all staying warm!

Ben David and I’ve been talking a lot about our dreams to one day own a hostel when we retire. I can’t imagine anything better than feeding people good food that I make from as scratch as possible, from the moment I grow the seed in the ground. Nourishing people with wholesome food while providing an inviting space for them to relax and enjoy time away would be a truly amazing way to spend my golden years. I dream of helping people realize the important relationships they have with food, and how it can be the biggest relationship in their lives.

The funny part is, we realized that we have house guests almost every 10-14 days, meaning we already practically have a hostel! I guess one day we’ll figure out how to have the self sustaining, off the grid version of our dream.

Image

Things I’m into this week:

I really love this Hippie Blog on cooking with whole foods, her meals look so good!

I’ve been researching hostels a lot lately, and I think this one looks really cool, I can see ours being like this.

I really enjoy this song right now, its great to listen to when you want to turn the lights down low and dance around by yourself.

My dear friends Dawn and Clint are here from Mississippi visiting, so I didn’t have a chance to photograph anything I’ve been making lately. I made some buckwheat crepes one night and homemade pizza the other night. One of my favorite recipes from when I worked at Mad Batter was yellow curry. Its easy to whip up, delicious, filling, and good to have in your tool box when you want to impress dinner guests.

IMG_1177

Yellow Curry

Ingredients:

1 small white onion, diced
1 jalapeño, diced
3 Garlic Cloves, smashed
1 Teaspoon Chili powder
1 stalk of lemongrass, minced
Olive Oil
2 Tablespoons pureed ginger
Handful of chopped fresh sweet or Thai Basil
Juice of one lime
2 Tablespoons of brown or raw sugar
3 Tablespoons of soy sauce
3-4 tablespoons yellow curry paste
3 cups coconut milk
2 cups of Vegetable stock
1 head of chopped cauliflower
3 Tablespoons of pureed ginger
Cashews for garnish

Also, chopped mushrooms stems if you need to use them up

1)   Sauté the onion, lemongrass, garlic, and jalapeño in enough olive oil to coat, and add the chili powder. Sauté until the onion is soft and translucent.

2)   Add the remaining ingredients, bring to a boil, and simmer for another 20-30 minutes, or until cauliflower is tender. Serve over brown rice with cashews on top.

Leave a Reply

