Green Oats

Mornings are for silence. I get up around 7 every morning, hours before my roommate and 45 minutes after my husband leaves for work. This is the golden time, the sweet spot. The house is empty, my dog is lazing next to me, and the sky is waking up, yawning, stretching out with reds and golden yellows. In the dark silence I tip toe to the kitchen and squeeze my lemon into a cup of warm water, then get my oatmeal started. While the oats are simmering away on the stove, I stretch out my sleepy back and hips and meditate as the sun warms the frost-covered windows. By the time my oats are ready, I’m usually warmed up for the day and have found a peaceful place in my mind to start out the next 10 hours with. 

Image

Finding an easy, low maintenance breakfast routine is crucial to living a healthy life. You don’t want to have to make a complicated breakfast every morning just to keep away from the standard sugar-laden cereal and nutrient deficient milk. Overnight Oats are a favorite for a lot of people, and I can see why. But in the winters especially I don’t really want a cold bowl of oatmeal, I want it steaming and warm, to stick to my ribs and heat me up. Having an oatmeal making routine every morning, I find, has helped me a lot in starting my day right with plenty of energy.

Image

Before I explain how to make my green-smoothie-oat-bowl, here are the links I’m all about this week:

Wolves in Montana are an interesting subject, and NPR has a great little article about it.

I love these charts, I have the yoga and the nutrition ones. They are a great way to remind me of how to make sure I’m getting everything I need without focusing on one or two veggies (kale or kale).

These maps are hilarious, stereotypes of the US.

A good discussion on where vegans should eat. She makes some good points, and has a refreshingly balanced approach.

If this were on tv, I kind of doubt a lot of people would actually change, sadly enough. But its funny nonetheless.

Get ready to want to stuff your face with grease and everything terrible in the world.

Green Oats

Imageeen
Yes, it looks weird. But it’s a great way to start your day with a punch of green goodness! If you put orange in with the kale, not only will it help neutralize the bitter aftertaste, but the iron in kale is best absorbed when eaten with a source of vitamin C.  

½ cup steel cut oatmeal
1 cup water
¾ cup milk product (I’m currently using flax milk, but bounce between soymilk and almond, too)
3-4 strawberries
1 banana
hemp seeds
Maca powder
Maple syrup, honey, or some other sweetener
2 or so kale leaves
½ orange

There aren’t many steps to this (it’s a fast breakfast recipe, right?). Just measure out your oats and water and put in a pot on the stove on medium heat. It can take almost 15-20 minutes for them to cook, so go enjoy your coffee, get dressed, do yoga, read the news, or make your lunch. Once the oats are almost done, put the maple syrup in them and then make the smoothie. Put the bananas, milk, maca powder, kale, and orange in a blender and blend until smooth and creamy. Slice the strawberries, and by the time the smoothie is done, you’re ready to combine it all in a bowl and add the hemp seeds! Enjoy your power packed morning!

 

Leave a Reply

