No Fuss Mac and Cheese

I didn’t post on Tuesday. I don’t have a good excuse, other than it was warm and sunny out and I didn’t want to waste any more time inside in front of a screen than I had to. I got my husband up early and took him and my dog on a nice little 3 mile jaunt along the river. It was beautiful and then we spent the rest of the day on the porch before I had to go to work. Right now I’m sitting on the porch again, sipping my favorite kombucha with my dog. Life couldn’t be better at this moment, and the crazy part is, its about to get a whole lot better!

Image

I’m really excited because I perfected the no fuss mac and cheese recipe, and I actually wrote down the measurements this time. But first, the things I’ve been digging:

A really crappy photo of the mighty Pigeon and I right at this very moment:

Image

The way this strong lady came back to running after Boston. She’s an inspiration for anyone who is dedicated to a sport.

The Honest Food Guide is a great reference for why we should eat a well varied, plant based diet.

We should all eat more raw foods, or at least be conscious of consuming them more.

Yikes, this amusing but too true movie is slightly depressing but also inspiring. Let’s make a change!

I’m working on designing my own little food pyramid, and this one is really cool.

I’ve been reading a lot of Dali Lama lately, and he talks about how compassion is the key to happiness. Compassion for all living things includes the earth into this, which is nicely summed up here.

And I like the song Gaucho by Dave Matthews.

Image

Alright, so now to the recipe! I’m excited about this recipe because most of the time you look for a vegan mac and cheese recipe it requires soaked, raw nuts, or some sort of pre-roasted veggie. You may not have cups of expensive raw nuts, or remembered to soak them or roast a veggie. I never do. When I decide I want mac and cheese, and I normally want it NOW. So I’ve been working on a super easy, fast mac and cheese recipe that only requires one pot and takes less than 15 minutes, including boiling the noodles. Here you go. Go stuff your skinny face with some carbs.

Image

No Fuss Mac and Cheese

-1 serving noodles (brown rice, whatever you like, however much you want)
-1 tablespoon diced onion
-1 small minced garlic clove
-½ teaspoon olive oil
-⅛ teaspoon paprika
-⅛ teaspoon white pepper
-½ teaspoons dijon mustard
-1 teaspoon shoyu (soy sauce)
-¼ cup nutritional yeast
-¼ cup soy milk

1) Start the noodles in water and boil until soft. Meanwhile, cut onion and garlic into very fine pieces and get the rest of your ingredients out and ready to go.

2) Drain the noodles, turn the heat down to low-medium, and add the olive oil, garlic, and onion. Saute until onions are clear, then add the paprika, mustard, pepper, and shoyu and warm up for a few seconds. Add the soy milk and nutritional yeast and stir until creamy and warm. Be careful not to boil the soy milk or it will taste bitter. Add your noodles and toss, or pour the sauce on top, or add to broccoli, or really just do whatever you want!

One thought on “No Fuss Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

