Easy Kale Salad with Sunshine Dressing

Happy Friday! I hope everyone had a great week and are gearing up for a fantastic weekend. Its sunny and 65 outside, I just finished some yoga on my front porch, then sat down and ate a gigantic bowl of kale with an amazing sun dried tomato dressing. Fuel! 

 Image
I’ve been trying to find ways to incorporate cayenne and cinnamon into my daily meals more, so I’ve been throwing cayenne into random recipes. The result is sometimes a little spicy, but working out well! Cayenne is anti-inflammatory, which I’m super interested in. When I eat too much fat (oils), my joints will start to hurt, so I’m constantly looking for ways to combat this. There is a lot of evidence to support a low-fat diet as a significant tool for managing joint pain, and I find this to be true in my life. I’m not anti-fat, I eat a lot of avocados and nuts, etc, to get a good supply of fat. But I find that consuming a lot of oils (even coconut, everyone’s favorite wonder fat right now), can cause my hips to hurt. Since I’ve spent the last year experimenting on what kind of diet could help elevate the debilitating hip pain I’ve had since I was 17, when I find a way to avoid triggering it, I stick to it. Everyone’s body is different. 
 
Things I’m about right now: 
This little video about mountains and how they form. Geology is so interesting!
This group of photos that inspire me to travel more. 
My new roll model, Olivia Hsu. She’s so strong and amazing and beautiful. 
 
This kale salad comes together nicely and is delicious, if tahini and sun dried tomatoes are your thing. 
Image
 
Easy Kale Salad with Sunshine Dressing
Dressing: 
1/2 cup sundried tomatoes
2 cloves garlic
1.5 teaspoons lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
dash black pepper
2 tablespoons tahini
3/4 cup boiling water
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon shoyu
 
Salad: 
Tuscan kale
Shredded carrots
Spring mix
Sunflower seeds
 
1) Bring the water to a boil, pour over sundered tomatoes and let sit. Meanwhile, combine the rest of the ingredients in a blender. Make your salad with the above ingredients, or whatever you want in it (broccoli, peppers, etc). 
 
2) Once tomatoes are rehydrated a bit (bright red), add them and all the soaking water to the blender. Blend until smooth, then scoop over the salad. This is a really chunky dressing. Add more water if you desire it to be a little runnier. If it gets too watered down, add some veggie stock to help with the flavor. 
Leave a Reply

