Summer Millet and Chick Pea Salad (and getting rowdy)

This post is a little rowdy. If you’re conservative (especially religiously), you may consider moving on with your browsing. Just a warning. 

Image

 
A dear friend of mine called me the other night, and asked if I’d been raising any kind of hell lately. I said, no, things had been kind of calm. 
“I can’t believe that about you,” he said. 
“You’re right, things have been calm but I’m fixing to get rowdy!”
Image
 
I went to the Organic Growers School last weekend with my mom, where I sat in on a round table discussion about GMO’s, and it blew my little mind. I know a lot of it already, but being around a bunch of other non-conformists really renewed my inspiration and passion for this issue. I strongly urge you to consider buying as much organic as possible (for your area and of course your wallet). The most infuriating part of the GMO issue is the idea that the FDA and other groups and just decided for us what is ok to put in our bodies. Buying organic and supporting non-GMO companies is one of the biggest ways we can actually have a voice in this issue. Please use this shopping guide to educate yourself on what products you use regularly that may be GMO-free certified. And of course, educate yourself on this issue and look into being part of a march or protest, if you feel as strongly as I do. We cannot let people control our food supply this earnestly without fighting back and demanding to be heard. 
 
Things I’m really all about right now: 
 
This yoga routine is the perfect stretch amount for beginner yogi’s (like myself), and is only 30 minutes, so you don’t feel like you’re going to get bored or anything. 
 
Shiva Rae is a new favorite of mine. Here’s an article she wrote on staying WILD. 
 
Reza Alsan wrote a book called “Zealot”, and he talks about it here. He makes some good, scholarly points about the life and times of Jesus. Don’t read this if you are a firm believer, you will never talk to me again. 
 
A good article relating to my time in life. Letting go of our plans and being open to whatever comes our way. This article about goals is relatable as well. 
 
I am getting a bit rowdy with my life. I turned my 2-week notice in last week and this Sunday will be my last day at my current job. I’m headed back into the hills for the summer. The city is not for me. Driving up the Smokey’s last weekend to the farm really helped me realize that. On the farm, with space for my eyes to look all day and relax, I felt like I could finally breathe. I went to Asheville where I was surrounded by a million skinny vegans all concerned with the way the world is headed, and I felt the self-consciousness I’ve developed living in the suburbs wearing off. A weight took wings and flew off my shoulders as I smelled the cool air and watched a golden sunset over the ridges. I was not built for the suburbs, for the 9-5, for the rat race. My soul was not created for lawns, for concrete driveways where husbands wash their cars every sunny afternoon as the wives stay safely inside, watching TV or making casseroles. 
 
If this is the life you want, if this is your dream, then I am so glad it is available for you. But living in the suburbs feels a bit like selling my soul (a bit? I lie, a lot). I’ll be headed back to the Nantahala River for the summer, where my soul can breathe and my eyes can relax. 
 
Now, a recipe! Haha. 
I’ve never cooked with millet before, but I’ve found such  huge difference in my health lately through consuming more grains and legumes, that I am trying them all. Millet is actually a seed, but its tasty and super versatile, like quinoa. 
 Image
Summer Millet and Chick Pea Salad
-1/2 cup Millet
-1 cup water
-2 green onions, sliced
-1 shredded carrot (medium size)
-1 can drained and rinsed organic chickpeas
-Ginger tahini dressing (1 batch)
 
1) Cook the millet like you would rice, and check often because it cooks faster. Once its done cooking, let it cool while you assemble the rest of the ingredients. Once its completely cool, toss them all together and enjoy! 
 
Ginger Tahini Dressing
-1/4 cup vegetable stock
-1.5 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
-1 clove garlic
-1/4 teaspoon cayenne
-1.5 tablespoons tahini
-1 tablespoon shoyu
 
Combine ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. 
Leave a Reply

