Healing Lentil Sunflower Seed Burgers

Happy Tuesday! Wow, its been a whole week since I last posted, and I’m sorry! I have a few good excuses this time though: My computer keyboard broke, so I have to borrow a computer to write a blog post. Also, I went a little rogue on my eating plan last week and my knuckles swelled up as result. So I spent the majority of the week eating blandish food while I tried to calm them down. Which leads me to today’s recipe. When I speak of bland food, I find it best for my joints if I follow a low fat-anti inflammatory diet. I am not strict in this, but at times when I eat 3 desserts in one day (like last week), the change can cause my joints to swell. After this, I usually stick to a rather strict diet for a few days, involving a lot of brown rice, lentils, and vegetables. This week I decided to experiment with all these and mix them into a burger. I did, and the result is delicious. Brown rice and lentils are such good, staple foods. They are high in fiber and protein and easy to digest. I bulked the burgers up with oats and veggies and sunflower seeds for good fats. I ate them all week on spelt bread toast with sweet roasted red pepper hummus and sprouts. Delicious! 

 Image
My last day at the co-op was Sunday. It was sad to leave, but I know the next step in life is going to be exciting and fulfilling. 

 
Image
 
Healing Lentil Sunflower Seed Burgers: 
1 cup cooked green lentils
1 small carrot, grated
1/4 white onion, diced
4 isn baby portabellas, diced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 tablepsoon dijon mustard
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/3 cup instant oats
1/3 cup oat bran
1/2 cup cooked brown rice
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1 teaspoon ground flax seeds
1 teaspoon Sage, thyme, basil
1/2 teaspoon cayenn, black pepper
 
1) Saute onions, carrots, and mushrooms in the olive oil until soft, add spices and heat one minute. Meanwhile, pulse rice, sunflower seeds, and lentils in a food processor until somewhat smooth. Mix with remaining ingredients. 
2) Scoop balls into a warm skillet, flatten, and fry like regular burgers, OR scoop balls onto a baking sheet, flatten, and bake at 350 until browned. 
Leave a Reply

