The lately

I’m here in the mountains of Appalachia still. I’m attaining everyday in the sun, I’m hiking to the fire tower for yoga in the evenings. The other afternoon I hiked up alone. I got to the top, sweaty and red faced, and laid down into happy baby pose. I rolled around until the combination of wood and bones began to hurt, then I went into downward dog, then plank and up dog. And the whole time, with the mountains spinning around me and the oceans of clouds with their little green mountain islands letting my eyes rest, I heard this truth inside me:
You know who you are. Step into it.
photo 2

I have a new hashtag: #letkayakingruinyourlife

I’m selling vegan chocolate cakes like they were the last bit of water in a desert.

My winter plans are all up in the air. I’ve been busy living here in this moment: in the dark coffee mixed with almond yogurt in an old jelly jar, with a strong paddle stroke in the current and my abs pulling me upstream (upstream all the time), with pans full of every fresh vegetable imaginable with fried tofu and volcano rice.

photo 1

I don’t have a recipe for you guys because all I eat right now is brown rice, tofu, fresh veggies, and chocolate of every form.

And an insane amount of oatmeal.

You don’t have to spend hours in down dog to know who you are. You don’t have to walk through the desert or spend months on top of a mountain to find yourself. You have to simply be ok with whoever you find inside yourself. You have to let go of who you want to be, of the idea of someone, and you have to realize you can spend your life fighting yourself or celebrating yourself.

I’m philosophical today because its the first time in 8 days straight I have more than an hour to myself. I hiked up the road for blackberries this morning, did yoga, and now I’m reading. And talking to no one.

I’ll post again soon with a recipe, I promise 🙂

photo 2-1

Leave a Reply

