Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

The gorge is going full force right now. I’m appreciating cooking huge batches of brown rice ahead of time, having fresh produce endlessly, and early mornings. My 5 am morning routine is going really well. I’m getting a lot done every morning as I wake up with the birds. I read, stretch out, make my coffee, and generally set my intentions for the day.

Traveling to Gatlinburg to work
Traveling to Gatlinburg to work

At the river we have attainment races every Tuesday evenings at 5. At the beginning of the season my time was 8 minutes and 40 seconds. I’m proud to report my time last race was 6 minutes and 38 seconds!

My little room at staff housing
My little room at staff housing

Lately I’ve been trying to break out of my daily food routine. You know, the one where I eat a veggie burger or hummus sandwich for lunch everyday and a brown rice-tofu-stir fried vegetable dinner. I’m living in a little rando right now with some amazing people, in the middle of the woods. As much as I love my little home, with various shacks perched in between the trees on the side of the mountain, my cooking is greatly limited as a result. I have to keep all my food in a mini-fridge and carry my bamboo-cooking basket down the walk-way every time I want to cook. I’ve stopped experimenting as much as a result, and am looking forward to this winter when I’ll be able to cook more and have more time and less disruptions. Last time I was at home in Knoxville I was able to make hummus for the week, which is quite a treat. Here’s a super simple recipe for roasted red pepper hummus. I don’t have a lot of ingredients anymore, so most of the food I’ve been cooking is super simplified, cheap, but good.

photo 2-1

Roasted Red Bell Pepper Hummus
1 roasted red bell pepper
dash cayenne
1 tsp cumin
3 cloves garlic
1 tbsp tahini
1 tbsp olive oil
1 can drained and rinsed chick peas
Salt and pepper to taste
Dash chili powder

To roast the red pepper, simply put it on the grill or in the oven at 350. Let it roast until almost the entire thing is black. Next, place it in a plastic bag for 10-15 minutes. once it’s cool, you can simply peel the blackened skin off and rinse. OR you can use canned red peppers, no judgement here.

Next, pulse all the ingredients in a food processor until smooth.

Especially delicious on toast!
Especially delicious on toast!

Leave a Reply

