Everlasting Kale Salad

Hello world!
I haven’t posted in a long time because I’ve been BUSY! I got a new job at NOC (Merchandising Assistant) and am moving to Asheville for the winter. This means I’ve been house hunting again, packing, working, etc. Of course, I’ve also made time for playing.
photo 1-4
With all the stuff going on here, I haven’t been very diligent with taking good photos of my food or wirting down recipes. I’ve been making a lot of amazing food lately, such as granola, spring rolls, etc.
photo 2-5
One thing I’ve been doing that is helping me eat healthy while on the go-go-go, is making a huge kale salad that I can dip into everyday. Here’s how I’m doing it:
photo 4-3
Everlasting Kale Salad
1 bag of dino kale (from Trader Joes)
1 lemon
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
2 peeled, shredded beets
½ cup raw sunflower seeds
½ cup raw pumpkin seeds
Dash of pink Himalayan salt and fresh pepper
shredded red cabbage
Mix the kale with the lemon juice and olive oil in a ziploc bag. Rub vigorously until the kale starts to soften and become limp. Let sit while you assemble the rest of the ingredients. Add to the kale salad and keep in the fridge. Add toppings as you use the mix such as: avocado, fried tofu, fresh carrots, tomatoes, cucumber, hummus.
An amazing thing about this salad is the vitamin C from the lemon helps your body absorb the iron in the kale and pumpkin seeds. It’s a great base for a heaping lunch salad or a good snack on its own. I’ve also been using a carrot-ginger salad dressing lately that is amazing. Its raw and oil free (except for a tiny bit of sesame seed oil).
Enjoy the salad!

One thought on “Everlasting Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

