Banana Bread Granola

This week has been the week of packing. While I’m happy to report that I’ve also been able to get on the Ocoee and run more than I have in months, I’ve also been over my head in boxes. But we’re almost there!

My old kitchen, which I'll miss dearly
My old kitchen, which I’ll miss dearly

After a run, I don’t want a heavy meal so I skip my amazing oatmeal bowls and go instead for easily digested carbs. Soy yogurt (Nancy’s Cultured Soy is awesome: no sugar or hundreds of weird additives), fresh fruit (especially berries), flax seed for some easily digested protein, and a little banana bread granola. Simple, easy, and delicious.

Post-run breakfast by the river
Post-run breakfast by the river

This granola I’ve been making in staff housing because it require so few ingredients and is so easy to whip up!

Banana Bread Granola
2 Bananas
2 Cups rolled oats
2/3 cups of nuts and seeds (I use an assortment of sunflower, pumpkin, chia, and sometimes walnuts)
1 tablespoon honey (Yes, I know its not vegan!) or maple syrup
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla
1) If the bananas are less than brown and bread worthy, roast them in the oven for 10 minutes until brown. Let cool and mash with other wet ingredients. Add dry ingredients, and spread over a slightly oiled baking sheet.

2) Bake at 300-350 for 20-30 minutes, turning often. I baked it at 275 the first time and it turned out great.

Leave a Reply

