Butternut Squash Soup

Tallulah Paddling
Tallulah Paddling

I’ve been kayaking with the fall leaves lately. I’ve been kayaking in gorges lined with rock, with snow, with roads, with half naked trees getting ready for hibernation. I’ve been kayaking with friends I love, sipping warm coffee on the windy roads on the way there, listening to get pumped music, whining about the cold.

In real life I keep moving, I’m getting rid of so much stuff that eventually I’ll just be living in my car. Its a not so distant dream now. My nomadic blood is running truer than ever and I’m figuring this process out.

There is not possible way to get an appetizing photo of this soup, so just believe me when I say its delicious. I fry kale and tempeh and add that when I need more of a real meal from it.

Butternut Squash Soup
1 farmers market butternut squash, peeled and diced
½ white onion diced
4 cloves garlic
1 sweet potato diced
1 carrot diced
dash salt
1 teaspoon curry powder
½ teaspoon paprika
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 cup water
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast

1) In a pan in a little water, saute squash, potato, carrot, garlic, and onion until soft. This may take a while, so put on some Chet Faker and get groovy with it. Once you have a soft, potato hash sort of mix, add the spices and stir on the heat until you can smell them.
2) Add the squash mix to the blender with the liquid and the nutritional yeast. Blend until smooth. Ta da! Easy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

