Stove Top Popcorn and South Eastern Creeking

Mid November brings the beginning of cold weather, and the promise of rain soon (or snow). Despite the cold, rain means creaking. Thanks to my drysuit, I’m looking forward to getting on several of my favorite local creeks this season. The North Fork of the French Broad is a must; it was a favorite during college and I can’t wait to get back on it.

Thanks to Hipgrave from the NOC, I have a new AT Super Duty to try out this season. I’ve never been a huge fan of bent shaft paddles, but I will see what I think after this weekend! On Sunday my friend Will and I plan to get on the Tallulah one last time. The 600 step stair case down to the put in has been surprisingly nice to me this year. Maybe all the running on hills I’ve been doing is paying off.

The Tallulah gorge is beautiful, with mostly clean pool-drop rapids and high rock walls. There are boofs everywhere and its always a good time. Its a short run, so taking your time is important or you end up with a 45 minute run after a 3 hour process to get there. The 3 mile lake paddle out is a good time to decompress and catch up with your friends, and just enjoy being in nature. We are so lucky in the South East to have such access to quality runs!

popcorn

Right now, I can’t seem to get enough of popcorn. Making popcorn on your stove top ensures that you have more control over what goes into. No greasy oil-coated bags for me! I find the best topping to be a sprinkling of nutritional yeast and curry powder, no joke! Its delicious!

How to Make Stove Top Popcorn

1) Heat a pot with a tight fitting lid on med-high until hot. Add coconut oil until melted. Once the oil is sizzling (a drop of water bounces in it), add a handful or so of popping corn.
2) Add the lid and wait for it to pop! It will pop for a while, then start to slow down. Once the popping has slowed to more than 2 seconds between, take off the heat.
3) Let sit for a few seconds to cool down. Then add to a bowl and toss with the nutritional yeast and curry powder!

Notes: a little goes a long way, don’t over load the pot with corn! You can find the corn in the bulk section of your local health food store. I suggest buying organic, obviously. Corn is a common genetically modified plant in the US.

Leave a Reply

