A little word on Kayaking and a recipe

I believe kayaking can change lives. This is because kayaking has changed my life and I see it changing other people’s lives all the time. I like to say “Let kayaking ruin your life”, but I’m more convinced it saved mine. Maybe I’m saying let it ruin your life because I want you to think about that… The concept of it ruining your life. And what for? What does a ruined life look like, exactly? My life is overfilling. Through kayaking I have met my husband, my best friends, I have made a career of the water (haphazardly). I’ve been able to go on week long back county trips, adventures overseas, and kayak some of the most beautiful class IV and V in the country.

Is that a ruined life?

Fourteen women at the Wild Women Wednesday meet on the lake: A women's paddling group my roommate and I created
Fourteen women at the Wild Women Wednesday meet on the lake: A women’s paddling group my roommate and I created

It may seem ruined because my bank account isn’t very big, I don’t have a “stable” job, and I don’t have a permanent address. But if we can all just back up a few feet, and really realize that we get 80-90 short years here to do something, and I’m already a quarter to a third of the way through it, is my lack of a ten year financial plan a real indicator of a ruined life? Or are my abundance of friends a sign of a life well lived?

The little community I live in
The little community I live in

Kayaking has the power to change lives. It causes us to realize how fragile life is (when friend after friend leaves this planet), and how simple life can be (in the middle of a challenging rapid you kind of forget about your mammoth to do list). And the best thing is, kayaking can cause you to feel alive, empowered, and strong. When life is all about struggling to get ahead, kayaking can create a way for you to feel, for a few hours at least, strong and capable and on top of things.

Playing around in Hell Hole on the Ocoee River
Playing around in Hell Hole on the Ocoee River

This bread is delicious and easy to make. The dough is really wet, so be sure to really oil down the pan with coconut oil!

Spelt toast with local eggs and fresh coffee
Spelt toast with local eggs and fresh coffee

Spelt Bread

1 Packet yeast
2 cups water
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 cups spelt flour
Coconut oil for loaf pan

1) Mix 2 cups slightly warm water with the sugar, yeast, and 1 cup of spelt flour with a spoon. Let sit until the yeast begins to bubble (ten minutes). Add the salt and olive oil, and being stirring in the rest of the flour until it is all incorporated.
2) Knead batter for a few minutes (five or so), then cover with a towel or saran wrap and leave in a warm place until double in size (could take up to an hour, I put mine in the sun and it took 20 minutes, so keep an eye on it!).
3) Turn oven on bake to 400. Liberally grease a loaf pan with coconut oil. Punch down dough/batter, then pour (literally, this batter is really soft) into the loaf pan. Allow to rise again (covered) until double in size. Spread coconut oil or olive oil on top of the loaf and bake until the top is browning and the sides start to pull away. This could take an hour. My oven is really unreliable right now, and it only took 30 minutes, but normally it would be closer to 45.
4) Once the top is brown and the sides start to pull away, remove from oven and place on counter for 5 minutes. Then shake the loaf free and allow to cool on the counter. Leaving it in the pan to cool will trap the steam and turn it into condensation which will result in a soggy loaf. Enjoy with coconut oil and honey!

Leave a Reply

