Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about motivation and intention. Right now is a tricky, dynamic time in my life and most of the lives of my friends. Almost everyone I went to school with is returning, and I’m no exception. I plan to return to school next fall (2016), and happily with most of the people I went with originally.

IMG_3167

Returning to school is a big decision that took me several months to make. And part of the hold up was checking out my motivation. I wanted to make sure my motivation for returning from school came from a healthy place, not a place of desperation or insecurity. My motivation for returning to school needed to be self-respect, the desire to create a better, more stable life for myself.

IMG_3205

“The road to mediocrity is…easy. 80% of people will proceed as planned — they’ll keep their mouth shut, save money, save face, not rock the boat. 20% (and that may be a generous portion), will risk looking like an indecisive, unreasonable, flake and they’ll put on the brakes, push for change, throw a wrench into the works, ask for unreasonable Olympian efforts at the last minute. The people in the latter camp? They tend to be outstanding. Their risks are more likely to pay off — because they take them.” Danielle LaPorte

Goals are what create motivation. But having the right motivation can make the difference between being proactive in creating a life you want or simply reacting to events and never really being the one to decide your fate.

Fall is coming, the air is changing along with the leaves and I’m in the baking mood. I’ve been making this bread often and enjoying every morning with my coffee.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

¼ Cup Almond Milk (I use unsweetened vanilla)
½ tsp Apple cider Vinegar
½ Cup melted coconut oil
¾ Cup coconut sugar
1 Tsp Vanilla
3 Over ripe, mashed bananas
2 Cups spelt Flour
1 Tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
¼ Tsp Nutmeg
¼ Tsp Salt
1/3 cup vegan chocolate chips

  • Mix apple cider vinegar with the milk and set aside; mix thoroughly coconut oil, sugar, bananas, and vanilla. Stir in the milk.
  • Sift together the flour and remaining ingredients except for the chocolate chips; stir into the wet ingredients ½ cup at a time. Stir in the chocolate chips last.
  • Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan; bake in a preheated oven at 350 for around 350, or until firm.
Leave a Reply

