Basic Chia Pudding

Over the last few weeks I’ve been thinking about how we make judgments a lot of the time based on very few facts about people. For example: we decide someone doesn’t like us because they are acting cold and rude, then react by treating him or her similarly. For all we know, they woke up late, rushed to work and forgot to get breakfast. Or maybe they got a flat tire on the way to work and now have to go buy four new ones.

Fall in the mountains!
Fall in the mountains!

When I got married, I eloped and was married for four months secretly before my wedding. No one (except for our parents and the witnesses) knew. It was interesting to be secretly married. At my wedding shower, a lady refused to pray over the food because I was “living in sin”, although I was actually married! That summer gave me a lot of reasons to start thinking about how I do that to people as well. I make a judgment based on the few things I know about a person, regardless of the full story.

A super secret wedding, but perfect. All I wanted was Ben David, an officiant, and myself, so thats what I got!
A super secret wedding, but perfect. All I wanted was Ben David, an officiant, and myself, so thats what I got!

As far as food goes: I’ve started mountain biking. It provides a similar adrenaline rush to kayaking but is different. For starters, it’s more easily accessible. I can throw my bike on my car and ride in Jackson Mississippi while visiting my in laws, or ride when there’s no rain for weeks. Riding a bike has already helped get me in better shape than kayaking, and it’s a really beautiful way to see the woods.

I should probably think about getting a truck...
I should probably think about getting a truck…

Riding a mountain bike has sparked an interest in fueling myself better for more intense exercise. I’ve been experimenting with dates, raw nuts and seeds, and the timing of eating as well. One thing I’ve started doing is eating chia pudding every morning for breakfast. I’m in love with this.

One thing I’ve always known about eating a plant based diet is regardless of how hard I train, I recover incredibly fast, meaning I can get back out there and get after it sooner. Things I love about chia seed pudding: Cinnamon and turmeric both have anti-inflammatory properties, almond milk is loaded with calcium, and chia seeds are incredible. They have tons of fiber, omega 3’s, protein, and calcium.

IMG_3198

Basic Chia Pudding

½ Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
2 Tablespoons chia seeds
1/2 Teaspoons Cinnamon Powder
1/4 Teaspoon Turmeric Powder
Optional: 1 Teaspoon local honey, maple syrup, etc.
1) Mix ingredients in a container with a lid. Make sure the seeds are thoroughly mixed or they will clump in weird places. I mix mine with a fork, then put the lid on and shake vigorously.

2) Put in the fridge overnight for best results. The pudding will be ready in about thirty minutes, but I usually make mine the night before.

Idea: I like to eat mine with extra milk, granola, fruit, and honey on top if I didn’t put it in the pudding.

Leave a Reply

