Lessons from Work

I’ve been working at GRA now for three months. I realized this the other day and it blew my mind. I’ve learned so much and my whole life has changed. My new job is challenging, but in the best of ways. I get to use my brain everyday, solve problems, figure out logistics, and introduce people to the river.

IMG_5532-1

And I’m learning about interacting with people in healthy ways.

For some reason the last year of my life has been focused on becoming a healthy person, the very best version of myself. One day I just woke up and all I wanted was to be as healthy as possible. I didn’t care much what it looked like, if I needed to move or make big, painful changes, all that mattered what becoming a healthy person.

I’m not saying I wasn’t, but it just wasn’t a focus. Right now I’m focused on creating a life for myself that’s as healthy as possible. That life involves a lot of learning.

IMG_5537-1
Got to get on the Ocoee! Stoked to get over there 🙂

When I first started working at GRA, my boss and fellow manager were always asking everyone the same question, “How can I help you?” They don’t ask just our guests, but our staff and me.

I didn’t think much of it at first, and then I noticed they asked it a lot. And I started noticing how it makes me feel. It makes me feel valued, heard, and supported. I like that.

I started asking them and the rest of the staff that question. I worried it might make me seem less than authoritative, but it actually made me focus on them more and find ways I can support them. We all work incredibly hard, and maintaining a team mindset is important in this line of work. Being aware of each other and helping each other is what the team is all about.

IMG_5541-1
Biking with legends

In a way I think that question unsettled me at first, because I thought maybe people would take advantage.

“How can I help you?”

“Oh if I could have weekends off and a raise that’d be sweet.”

But that isn’t the case. If someone asks for more than I can give, I can gently say no and set boundaries. It’s so easy to fall into the rut of thinking of ourselves, and forgetting that we are not the only people involved. By asking others what I can do for them, and trying to find ways to help others, I’m forcing myself to think outside of myself and focus on other people.

Its all part of being on a team, and having that team mind set. We aren’t focused on our own needs and goals so much as we’re focused on the team’s. We’re stronger together.

Leave a Reply

